News & Updates

From the Foundation for Professional Ergonomics

Left to right: Dr. Tobias Grundgeiger (the students’ advisor), Ann-Kathrin Kraft, Daniel Reinhardt, and Moritz Albert.

Moritz Albert, Daniel Reinhardt, and Ann-Kathrin Kraft: 2015 Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award Winners

Congratulations to the German team of Moritz Albert, Daniel Reinhardt, and Ann-Kathrin Kraft, winners of the 2015 Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award. The award was presented at the 2015 HFES Annual Meeting in Los Angeles. In addition to a plaque, the awardees received a cash award of $1,000 provided by a sponsor, and HFES added complimentary registration for the Annual Meeting.

Mr. Albert, Mr. Reinhardt, and Ms. Kraft, students of the Human-Computer-Interaction Master of Science program at the Institute Human-Computer-Media, at the Julius-Maximilians-Universität in Würzburg, Germany, are the sixth recipients of the award. The team’s project is titled “Development, Formative Evaluation, and Summative Evaluation of a Tablet-based Application for Real-time Resuscitation Documentation.” Documentation of in-hospital cardiopulmonary resuscitations such as the exact time of intervention delivery is important for improving quality and safety of resuscitations. Resuscitations involve time-critical treatments and can be stressful for the resuscitation team. Albert, Reinhardt, and Kraft developed a tablet-based application for documentation of in-hospital cardiopulmonary resuscitations that enables real-time documentation by a member of the resuscitation team. They employed a user-centered design process including several iterations and formative evaluation methods such as pluralistic walkthroughs, thinking aloud, and simulated resuscitations using a patient manikin.

erg 1
Robert Smilllie (far right) presenting the Award to the German Team. Left to right: Dr. Tobias Grundgeiger (the students’ advisor), Ann-Kathrin Kraft, Daniel Reinhardt, and Moritz Albert.

Mr. Albert, Mr. Reinhardt, and Ms. Kraft stated, “It is a great honor for us to receive the Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award. We are very pleased to get this appreciation. It definitely encourages us to continue with our research work and future projects in the field of ergonomics.”

Click here for an abstract of their project

The award competition had an international flavor this year with Certificates of Appreciation given to the following runner-ups:

  • Milan Radenkovic, Evanthia Giagloglou, and Marko Milosevic from the University of Kragujevac, Serbia.
  • Mehdi Saffarian, University of Toronto, Canada.
  • Maryam Zahabi, Wenjuan Zhang, Inchul Choi, and Yi-Fan Liao, North Carolina State University, United States.

er 2
Milan Radenkovic and Eva Giagloglou with Certificate.

er 3
Professor John Senders and Mehdi Saffarian with Certificate.

er 4
Left to right – David Kaber (Faculty), Wenjuan (Isabel) Zhang (PhD student), Maryam Zahabi (PhD student), Chang-SOO Nam (Faculty), Yi-Fan Liao (Masters student), Inchul Choi (PhD student) with Certificate.

Contact Us

Foundation for Professional Ergonomics
P.O. Box 453
Poway, CA 92074

Who We Are

The Foundation for Professional Ergonomics was established in 2004 as a non-profit organization dedicated to advancing professionalism in ergonomics through educational activities and awards.  Our goals support the goals of BCPE, and we work closely with the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society (HFES) on various ergonomics practitioner initiatives.  FPE attained an IRS 501(c)(3) status enabling tax-deductible donations from those sharing this dedication to professionalism in ergonomics.