News & Updates

From the Foundation for Professional Ergonomics

Paul Schlosser receives the 2018 award from his mentor on the project, Dr. Tobias Grundgeiger.

Paul Schlosser: 2018 Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award Winner

Congratulations to Paul Schlosser, a student at the Institute Human-Computer-Media, Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg, Germany for winning the 2018 Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award.  Paul is a Master of Science Candidate Human-Computer-Interaction.

This marks the second time that students from the Würzburg Institute won the award.  The award was presented to Paul by Professor Tobias Grundgeiger at the Institute in Germany.  The award included a $1,000 check to Paul and another $1,000 check to Dr. Grundgeiger’s discretionary fund.

Paul Schlosser completed his project in cooperation with the Department of Anesthesia and Critical Care, University Hospital of Würzburg.  In the project Multiple-Patient Monitoring with a Head-Worn Display: Improving Supervising Anesthetists’ Situation Awareness in the Operating Suite Paul Schlosser evaluated the potential of a head-worn display that showed multiple patients’ vital signs and alarms to allow supervising anesthetists’ to continuously monitor their patients’ status. 

The objective of the project was the development and evaluation of a Head-Worn Display (HWD) based multiple-patient monitoring application for anesthetists. The HWD supported the anesthetists in developing and maintaining situation awareness.  The HWD helped the anesthetists to detect patient deterioration, to make informed decisions on treatment, to set priorities dynamically and even to check the occupancy of the ORs.  The results of the evaluation demonstrates that the HWD increased anesthetists’ situation awareness.  Click here for an abstract of Paul’s project.

Paul Schlosser thanked FPE for the award and stated:  “I really appreciate this prestigious honor at such an early stage of my academic career.  The award was always very impressive to me…Being the recipient of the Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award will most certainly boost my application for a PhD position at the University of Queensland in Australia.”

Previous winners include:

2017:  Carly Warren, Abeera Ali, David Gafni, Daipayan Guha, Mayan Murray, and Hendrik Ophardt, University of Toronto
2016:  Hyungil Kim, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
2015:  Moritz Albert, Daniel Reinhardt, and Ann-Kathrin Kraft Institute Human-Computer-Media, Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg,
2014:  Denny Yu, University of Michigan
2013:  Kapil Chalil Madathil, Clemson University
2012:  Mohd Nasrull Abdol Rahman, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
2011:  Radin Umar, Ohio State University
2010:  Augusto Espinosa, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Contact Us

Foundation for Professional Ergonomics
P.O. Box 453
Poway, CA 92074

Who We Are

The Foundation for Professional Ergonomics was established in 2004 as a non-profit organization dedicated to advancing professionalism in ergonomics through educational activities and awards.  Our goals support the goals of BCPE, and we work closely with the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society (HFES) on various ergonomics practitioner initiatives.  FPE attained an IRS 501(c)(3) status enabling tax-deductible donations from those sharing this dedication to professionalism in ergonomics.